Beginning in January 2022, Limestone County Emergency Management Agency, in coordination with TVA, will make a permanent change to the testing schedule for the Outdoor Warning Siren System along with 3 other counties. Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone and Morgan Counties will begin testing sirens on the first Wednesday of each month.
Previously, these tests were conducted on the 2nd Monday of each month in order to maintain these sirens in the event of an emergency.
January 5th will be the first day to reflect the new change so please mark you calendars with the test date change. If you receive a calendar from TVA, you will note the change posted on the test day of each month.
Alabama Emergency Management Agency, in conjunction with the Alabama Department of Revenue, is tasked with administering the provisions of the Alabama Storm Shelter Tax Credit Act.
What is the Tax Credit?
The tax credit will equal up to three thousand dollars ($3,000) or 50 percent of the total cost of the construction, acquisition, and installation of the qualified (FEMA P-320, March 2021) storm shelter at the primary residence, whichever is less.
The total costs for qualification of the tax credit will exclude any costs reimbursed or expected to be reimbursed by any other reimbursements, grants, or other government subsidies or incentives.
The tax credit may not decrease a taxpayer’s tax liability to less than zero.
If the tax liability of the taxpayer is less than the tax credit issued, the taxpayer may only utilize the amount of the credit that reduces the taxpayer liability to zero.
The statewide tax credit is limited to a collective amount for all taxpayers of two million dollars ($2,000,000) annually.
Eligible Alabama state taxpayers who incur costs for the construction, acquisition, or installation of a qualified storm shelter at their primary residence in the state of Alabama will be eligible for an income tax credit for the storm shelter.
What documentation do I need?
Shelter/safe room specification sheet with engineer seal dated 2021 or later
Proof of primary residence (County property tax record)
Proof of shelter acquisition/installation cost (invoice with a zero balance)
If you would like to verify your storm shelter meets the most recent FEMA requirements – FEMA P-320 (March 2021), FEMA P-361 (April 2021) and ICC 500 (2020) – before purchase of a shelter, you can send your complete set of engineered drawings to firstname.lastname@example.org
For more questions:
For more information on how to apply for the storm shelter tax credit, call 205-280-2200
For more information on how the tax credit will be applied to your taxes, click the link below.