Skip to content




Emergency Preparedness

Disasters disrupt thousands of lives every year, leaving behind lasting effects on people and property. After a disaster, many others in your community need help as well. For this reason, local first responders and other assistance may not be able to reach you right away. You and your family can take simple steps now to prepare for emergencies. By doing so, you take back control—even in the uncertainty of disaster.

There are many benefits to planning ahead for disasters. The most important benefits are staying safe and helping yourself and your community recover.

People and families that plan for emergencies will:

• Help keep people safe;
• Limit property damage;
• Know what to do during and after a disaster;
• Better manage their savings;
• Support community preparedness; and
• Help their community get back up and running after a disaster.

Taking simple actions to protect against disaster helps you, your family, your community, and your country in important ways.

Learn more about being prepared by clicking one of the buttons below.



The mission of the Limestone County Emergency Management Agency is to coordinate mitigation and preparedness activities prior to a disaster and to coordinate response and recovery efforts in the event of a disaster in Limestone County. Our all hazards approach includes threats from tornadoes, floods, and other weather emergencies, as well as man-made or technological hazards such as nuclear power plant emergencies and acts of terrorism. Planning, ongoing training and teamwork have been the key to a quick response and successful recovery from disasters that have impacted our community in the past. Limestone County EMA is committed to working with local, state and federal agencies to provide to the most comprehensive emergency management program possible to the citizens of Limestone County.