Division F Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan – Final Draft Available for Public Comment

The Top of Alabama Regional Council of Governments (TARCOG), in partnership with North Central Alabama Council of Governments (NARCOG), and the County Emergency Management Agencies (EMAs) of Blount, Cherokee, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Jackson, Limestone, Madison, and Morgan Counties have developed the final phase of the Division F Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan.  The Division F Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan details the multitude of hazards that impact the Alabama Emergency Management Agency (AEMA) Division F area.  There are seven AEMA emergency management divisions in the State of Alabama.  AEMA Division F is located in the North-Central and Northeastern area of the State and includes Blount, Cherokee, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Jackson, Limestone, Madison, Marshall, and Morgan counties and over 100 jurisdictions within those counties including local municipalities, utility providers, school districts, institutions of higher education, and other participating stakeholders.

 The Division F regional hazard mitigation planning process was conducted in two phases. The first phase included a detailed update of hazard information for Cherokee, Cullman, DeKalb, and Etowah counties.  The second phase included the updates of Blount, Jackson, Limestone, Madison, and Morgan counties and will culminate in a comprehensive regional hazard mitigation plan for nine counties of the Division F region.  While Marshall County is also a part of AEMA’s Division F, it was not involved in this planning process.  Marshall County recently completed a county hazard mitigation plan update; therefore, it was determined that Marshall County did not need to be included in the regional plan until the plan’s next update in 2025.

TARCOG and our regional hazard mitigation planning committee partners are requesting public review and comment on the draft plan which will be available online through January 31st.  If you would like to provide comments please email Limestone County EMA at

Please click here to view the document.

Outdoor Warning Siren Test Day Changing, What You Can Expect.

Siren Test Day Changing
Siren Update

Beginning in January 2022, Limestone County Emergency Management Agency, in coordination with TVA, will make a permanent change to the testing schedule for the Outdoor Warning Siren System along with 3 other counties. Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone and Morgan Counties will begin testing sirens on the first Wednesday of each month.

Previously, these tests were conducted on the 2nd Monday of each month in order to maintain these sirens in the event of an emergency.

January 5th will be the first day to reflect the new change so please mark you calendars with the test date change. If you receive a calendar from TVA, you will note the change posted on the test day of each month.

Limestone County Outdoor Warning Siren Service Outage


Date: December 9, 2021

The outdoor warning siren located at Copeland Rd. and East Limestone Rd. is out of service due to damage from vehicle accident.  Siren will be out of service until parts and repairs can be made. 

Please do not rely on outdoor warning sirens to sound during severe weather or tornado warnings you may not hear them indoors.  Stay weather aware by using a NOAA Weather Radio, local TV and Radio Stations or sign up through for all weather updates.  Please make sure these devices use a battery backup system.

Damaged Siren